

Newsletter February 2009

In this issue

- 1. Annual General Meeting Announcement
- 2. Upcoming Annual Scientific Meeting March 13
- 3. Upcoming Histopathology Course March 12
- Membership renewal
- Thanks to our sponsors

Annual General Meeting 2009

The AGM 2009 will be held March the 13nd IDA Conference Centre; Kalvebod Brygge 31-33; Copenhagen, 17:00-18.00, just after the 6th scientific meeting.

The Agenda is the following:

- Report from the president
 Maiken Cavling Arendrup
- 2. Report from the general secretary Peter Gaustad
- 3. Report from the treasurer
- Ditte Saunte
 4. Next scientific meeting; Topic and Venue
- 5. Election of board members

The following members of the board have now served the 3 year-term: Tore Abrahamsson NO (wish to reseign) and Pentti Kuusela FI (accepts re-election). Furthermore, Timo Hautala FI wishes for personal reasons to resign from the board.

According to the statutes, the candidates for the new Board should be nominated no later than three weeks before the AGM. Nominations to the board can be made by any two members of the Society. If more than one nomination is received, the Society shall proceed to lections by ballot at the AGM.

- 6. Propositions from the members
- 7. Any other business

Received nominations for the board:

Ingvild Nordøy (NO) is a medical doctor from the University of Tromsø in 1988. She defended her PhD thesis on the immunresponse to CMV infection in the immunocompromised host in 2000 at the University of Oslo, and since that became a specialist in internal medicine in 2002, a specialist in infectious dis-



eases in 2005 and a specialist in medical microbiology in 2007.

Since 2007 she has been the head of the section of medical mycology at the Institue of Microbiology at Rikshospitalet in Oslo. The Institute has the function of reference laboratory for medical mycology in Norway.

Board members not running for election this year):

Maiken Cavling Arendrup (President) (re-elected 2007)

Lena Klingspor (Vice president) (re-elected 2007) Peter Gaustad (General Secretary) (re-elected 2008) Ditte Saunte (Treasurer) (re-elected 2008) Vanda Friman (Elected 2008)

6th NSMM Meeting March 13 in CPH, DK

The sixth Scientific Meeting of NSMM, will take place on Friday March 13 2009. The meeting is held at the IDA Conference Centre; Kalvebod Brygge 31-33; Copenhagen which is in the heart of Copenhagen and facing the harbour.

We have the honour to have three distinguished invited key-note speakers:

- William Hope from University of Manchester, UK who received the ECCMID the young investigator award 2008 and who will talk on Aspergillosis and other mould infections,
- Bart-Jan Kullberg Professor of Med and Infect Dis, Head of the Division of Infect Dis, Nijmegen University Centre for Infect Dis., Nijmegen, NL, who will share his great experience on clinical aspects of fungal infections and debate a serious of clinical cases with us and
- George Petrikkos Professor of Internal Med and Infect Dis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Laiko General Hospital, Athens, GR who will update our knowledge on imported mycosis.







William Hope

Bart-Jan Kullberg

George Petrikkos

Register NOW - don't miss this outstanding opportunity in Nordic grounds.

Download registration form at www.nsmm.nu or contact mad@ssi.dk or ditte@saunte.com

The full programme is found at our web page and also attached this mail.



Newsletter February 2009 Continued

NSMM Course in Histopathology 2008-9

Histopathology in Medical Mycology: Theory to Practice

A one-day course on the diagnosis of fungal infections by histopathology will be held on March 12 2009 by Professor Henrik Elvang Jensen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark.

The course is a composition of lectures and practical exercises at the microscope for the morphological recognition of fungi and the application of immunohistochemistry for the identification of fungi to the genus and/or species level.

The course is aimed at clinical microbiologists and pathologists with interest in medical mycology. The number of participants is limited to 10 due to its hands-on design but still there is room for a few participants more. So don't hesitate to contact Henrik Elvang-Jensen at helj@life.ku.dk if you are interested in participating.



Short break during the histopath course 2008

Membership and Payment

Please remember to pay your membership fee directly to any of the banc accounts in the 4 Nordic countries. Individual member (one year):

 $7 \le$ / 50 DKK / 50 NKK / 50 SEK Life member (fee 10 times annual fee): $70 \le$ / 500 DKK / 500 NKK / 500 SEK Corporate member (fee 100 times annual fee): $700 \le$ / 5000 DKK / 5000 NKK / 5000 SEK.

Denmark:

Sydbank, Post Box 169, DK6200 Åbenrå Reg.nr. 7120 Konto nr. 0151273. IBAN: DK3371200000151273. Swift: SYBKDK22 (=BIC kode)

Finland

Nordea, Tukholmankatu 2, 00250 Helsinki

Account: 102335-68957 Name: Nordic Society for

Medical Mycology

IBAN: FI8210233500068957.

Swift/BIC: NDEAFIHHAccount: 102335-68957

Norway: DnB NOR,

Account: 5081 0683 888

Sweden:

SE-banken,

Bank Account no: 5048-10 092 80; IBAN-no: SE0950000000050481009280.

Swift: ESSESESS; Bankgiro no.: 300-2409

Please note that no personal reminders are sent out and that it may take a while before you appear on the membership list as this is only updated a few times a year.

New members: Go to our web-site www.nsmm.nu and register online. Membership is valid as soon as the membership fee is received at any of the banc accounts in the 4 Nordic countries.

Unless there are directions to the contrary, membership nominations approved before September 1st are credited to the current year. Nominations approved after September 1st will become effective the following January. Regular membership are initiated and renewed in January each year.

E-mail: Peter Gaustad (secretary) peter.gaustad@rikshospitalet.no

Sponsors

Again this year it has been possible to raise sponsor support for this year's meeting in Copenhagen. We gratefully thank

Gold: Astellas, Gilead and Pfizer

Silver: Cephalon and Schering-Plough

Bronze: Merck Sharp & Dohme, bioMérieux and Si-

moco Diagnostics

for their generous contributions.

On behalf of the Society:



Maiken C. Arendrup, President NSMM